The Fate of Fausto

There was once a man who believed he owned everything and set out to survey what was his You are mine, Fausto said to the flower, the sheep and the mountain, and they bowed before him But they were not enough for Fausto, so he conquered a boat and set out to sea Working for the first time in tr

Category: art

Women in Art: 50 Fearless Creatives Who Inspired the World

Illustrated profiles of 50 pioneering female artists from the 11th century to today from the author of the New York Times bestseller Women in Science A charmingly illustrated and inspiring book, Women in Art highlights the achievements and stories of 50 notable women in the arts from well known

Category: art

It Began with a Page: How Gyo Fujikawa Drew the Way

Gyo Fujikawa s iconic children s books are beloved all over the world Now it s time for Gyo s story to be told a story of artistic talent that refused to be constrained by rules or expectations Growing up quiet and lonely at the beginning of the twentieth century, Gyo learned from her relatives

Category: art

Judith Kerr

This season s second volume in The Illustrators series showcases the work of Judith Kerr, one of Britain s most beloved authors and illustrators She first started writing and illustrating stories for children when in her forties and some fifty years later she is still producing bestselling books H

Category: art

Suzanne Jackson: Five Decades

Published on the occasion of the first full career survey of American artist Suzanne Jackson at the Telfair Museums in Savannah, Georgia, Five Decades illuminates a professional career that spans than fifty years, concentrating on a unique selection of Jackson s artworks and their relationships

Category: art

If I Built a School

In this exuberant companion to If I Built a Car, a boy fantasizes about his dream school from classroom to cafeteria to library to playground My school will amaze you My school will astound.By far the most fabulous school to be found Perfectly planned and impeccably clean.On a scale, 1 to 10, it

Category: art

Schilderslief

Op een julidag in 1650 wordt Geertje Dircx door de vroedschap van Amsterdam aangehouden, in een koets getrokken en voor twaalf jaar opgesloten in het spinhuis van Gouda Van een proces is geen sprake ze wordt monddood gemaakt Haar geliefde Rembrandt van Rijn heeft daartoe opdracht gegeven Vanuit

Category: art

The Seekers

A small band of brave adventurers journey to save their village in this stunning debut picture book from papercut artists Hari Deepti Perfect for fans of Aaron Becker s Journey Mio and Nao live in the valley of Krum, above a great river that provides everything they need to survive As children,

Category: art